Emails: Unsubscribe, Subscribe, Opt in¶
Subscriptions work at the organisation level. Hence if you have unsubscribed from one organisation you can still get emails from another.
Automatic sending of emails for email campaigns and tasks is turned off by default in all organisations and can only be turned on by the organisation administrator.
Every email sent has an unsubscribe link. If the email recipient does not want to receive emails they can click on this which will take them to a page with an unsubscribe button. If they click on that button they will not receive any more emails.
It is not possible to wake up one morning and decide to unsubscribe. An unsubscribe link is needed in an email.
If someone wants to recieve emails again they can go to the home page of the server and select subscribe. They will then be asked to enter their email address and validate it. If they are unsubscribed from 1 or more organisations then those organisations will be listed and the person can select the ones they want to subscribe to again.
They will then receive an email asking them to confirm the subscription.
Before mailouts, tasks or notifications are sent to an email address the recipient needs to “opt in”. More accurately we just want them to confirm their email address. Until the user opts in other emails are held in a pending state.
For email mailouts the opt in email is the first email that the person is sent. If they complete the requested survey then the user is marked as opted in.
For notifications a special opt in email is sent allowing the user to confirm their email address.